top of page

Dance Analysis Motif Duet


This study was a motif score performed as a duet. A fellow classmate and I created this score with the task of making it for more than one body while also following the guidelines of the assignment. It was very difficult for me because I could not just start choreographing without thinking about how I would notate it. Writing and reading motif scores can be very challenging for me at times, but with this particular assignment I made sure that we made the movement easy enough so that the notation could be read as clear as people. Once we performed this study, we had to make sure that we translated the score correct while also giving a credible performance.

During this semester, being in dance analysis has taught me a great deal about the notation of movement, its history, and the application of the concepts to my everyday dance practices. Notation methods like Laban and motif score are in a way languages within themselves. Having a basic set of knowledge about them definitely makes me a better and more applicable dancer. Even though I do not really have much interest in extending my notation studies, the major concepts will help me.

The great thing that I really appreciate about these notation methods are that they are universal. This allows dance scholars from all over to be able to read the scores and to recreate them. In our technology age of today's times we have the ability to record works using our cameras, but in earlier times they did not have that ability. Notation allows dance to be documented and passed on from generation to generation.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page